A Quick Update

Blogging time has been scarce the last few weeks, so I thought I’d give a quick update on where I am now and what’s been going on.

First the best news: my boss’s grant came through and I have funding on my project for a minimum of two years, most likely a full four years. Compared to most, that is serious stability, which I like a lot.

I have to say this makes me a rather lucky fellow; not that there are no job s at all in the Research Triangle, but they are hard to come by, especially if you still want to be doing synthetic chemistry. That I can at least tentatively plan on being here for the longer term is marvelous.

We’ve been busy in a couple of areas, with a new grant we are busy getting things going for that, but also making tool compounds for collaborators and also getting our data organized for publication. I have been good at getting the data but getting it into a form we can publish, especially with the number of compounds, is a challenge. All I can say is thank goodness for ACD software for managing NMR spectra.

Making tool compounds is interesting too. Sometimes it is just literature compounds that the pharmacologist wants and sometimes it is something from our collection that has better properties or that we want to compare with the established standard. But it does generally involve working on a bit bigger scale (multiple gram quantity) which is a nice change from 30 mg of compound being ample. You can see it, you can actually make a nice solid that you can see at the bottom of the vial!

I also got to contribute to another writing assignment, which I suppose where most of my spare time, “blogging time” if you will, went. That was a piece where I thought after I got the subject I would rattle off pretty quickly but then the more I read the more it grew. Don’t think I can really say much more until I know it’s OK, so look out for more about that at a later stage and it might well spawn a number of extra blog posts as well.

A final note: we had a Canada Goose decide that the employee parking lot was a good place for a goose nest this week. That is not quite as crazy as it sounds – there are a lot of trees lining the area – but still fairly unorthodox. Add to that the gander strutting around warning people off with a hiss. It made walking into work a bit more interesting!

3 comments on “A Quick Update

  1. Chemjobber says:

    So glad to hear that you have funding! That’s great news!

  2. Ken says:

    Enjoying your blog! Hope you can fit it back in soon!

Leave a Reply

