Goodbye, Dad

This isn’t going to be the usual chatter about chemistry. That sort of blogging isn’t what I feel like doing right now. You see, I lost my father to a heart attack recently; it has hit me rather hard.

My Dad wasn’t young as such and he had his health problems, but he was basically OK. People had talked to him just the day before and he had been fine. Or at least he didn’t mention any problem, but then he wouldn’t have. He was never one to complain about things.

He wasn’t a scientist, in fact he left school as soon as he was able and went to work. He worked his way up though, he started his own fencing company and even after he sort of retired, his knowledge of his trade made him sought after. He was still working right up until the end, as a consultant. He didn’t really need to, but I’m not sure he would know what to do if he didn’t have something to work on.

He taught me many things, not just the value of hard work. He was a practical man. He taught me about loyalty and fairness, about when to work and when to play. We played cribbage many times and he never once let me win, which made my eventual victory all the sweeter, as it had been truly earned.

I always wanted him to be proud of me – he had a way of inspiring that in me. I recall telling him I had gotten into graduate school and I could hear the joy in his voice. I heard that again when I brought his grandson to see him.

It was all so sudden, I have not really taken it in yet – part of why I can type this now. There is a sense of things he was supposed to do. I am so relieved we went back to England to see him last summer now. He got to spend quite a while with the grandchildren, even if they wanted to watch cartoons on his cool TV. My brother is getting married this summer. My Dad was supposed to be there. He’s even going to miss the rugby world cup this year, how could this be?

Perhaps he will be there after all, watching. Just he’ll be watching from a different angle.

3 comments on “Goodbye, Dad

  1. Chemjobber says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss — it must be very hard.

  2. Todd Lewis says:

    I am so very sorry for your loss, David. As sons, I don’t think we ever lose the desire to make our dads proud. My thoughts are with you during this impossibly difficult time.

Leave a Reply

