A Decade On

It has been hard to avoid reflecting on what happened in New York and Washington DC 10 years ago. It really is one of the times you remember where you were.

I was at work, the company I worked for (Scynexis) was just over a year old and I had been there for maybe 6 months. All chemistry was in one big lab with offices along one side. I remember coming out of my office heading for my hood when I heard someone say that someone had flown a plane into the World Trade Center. I still remember thinking that sounded like a sick joke. Because it couldn’t possibly be something that really happened. I also remember later that morning, standing with a bunch of other people, watching a television – I don’t even know where it came from – with scenes from the tragedy unfolding.

The world changed that day but it has changed a lot since then too. We’ve really had to put that behind us because there are an ever increasing number of other things to worry about. We were told at the time the terrorists would win if we didn’t just try to live our lives as best we could and so we do, because there isn’t really any other way to go on.

So I took my moment to remember. Now it is time to get on with the rest of our lives.

Leave a Reply

