More Tough Times

It has not been an easy time in the Research Triangle Park area but we got some more bad news this week. I heard a report that High Point chemical synthesis company PharmaCore had let people go last week. I don’t seem to be able to find any confirmation of that anywhere. Then I also heard yesterday that biotech company Grifols (which acquired Talecris in RTP not too long ago) has shed more R&D positions here. Again, a lack of news source, but since I actually know someone involved, I am pretty certain of my facts there.

What with the decline of GSK in the area, plus the relocation of Pamlico last year, the biotech/pharma industry has been hurting in these parts.

Best of luck to all of those involved.

4 comments on “More Tough Times

  1. Chemjobber says:

    I am a complete idiot for not seeing this earlier. A thousand apologies, David.

  2. Cory Roberts says:

    Both Pharmacore and Trans Tech laid-off 70% of their staffs. I know people a both companies that were laid off. It was bad. People left with one or two month severance packages. They did not even pay people for their unused vacation time. It was heartless.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.